Skip to main content
Tel. 01227 761319

about me


I have had wide experience of teaching mathematics in a variety of schools in the Canterbury area. This includes teaching at all levels in grammar and independent schools and also sixth form colleges.

I have been Head of Department in two schools. In addition I have been tutoring for about twelve years. At present I am teaching mathematics at a sixth form college, including courses in GCSE , A- level and International Baccalaureate. I have an up-to-date advanced CRB check.

My current tutoring involves work at both primary and secondary levels. In particular this ranges from Key Stage 2, including preparation for the Kent Test, through Key Stages 3 and 4(including GCSE) and up to A-level.


I first started as a personal tutor when it became clear that many pupils struggled with maths and needed the benefit of one-to one personal tutoring to help them understand the often very difficult mathematical concepts. Maths is not an easy subject for many people but with patience and time from an understanding tutor, most people can overcome their fear of maths and become more proficient than they thought possible. It is very satisfying for me as a maths tutor to see students blossoming and become more confident in their abilities. I have seen many, many students pass exams( ie Kent Test, GCSE,A level) who never thought that they would achieve this level.

I very much believe that students can reach their full potential in a one-to-one tutoring situation. One of the key aspects of my maths tutoring is working at a pace which suits the pupil, enabling him/her to make significant and lasting progress. The tutoring process enables the student to grow in confidence, not only in maths but also in a range of areas of their academic and personal development.


Ideally lessons last for one hour on a weekly basis. This provides the regular tuition which will enable the pupil to make the best lasting progress in maths. My availability is late afternoons and evenings from Monday to Friday. Lessons can take place either at my home in Canterbury or I will travel to within a ten mile radius of Canterbury.